Straight to the working
Bracket Math

How much do braces cost?

Nobody publishes a retail price for braces, so this page does not print one. It prints what public payers allow instead — $3,790.00 across four lines in Illinois, $3,924.45 as a single code in Arkansas, and a blank where Oklahoma's price should be — and shows how each figure was reached.

What is published, and what is not

There is no free, primary, national source that prints what a practice charges for braces in the United States. We looked for one and did not find it; that absence is the reason this page is built the way it is. Rather than average other people's guesses, it reads the documents that do exist and says exactly what each one contains.

Those documents are payer fee schedules — the rate a programme will allow a dentist for a given procedure code — and plan brochures, which say how much of an allowed amount a plan pays. Neither is a retail price. An allowed amount is the ceiling of a negotiation you are not party to, and it is frequently well below what the same work is billed at privately. Read everything below as the floor of a public conversation rather than the price of a course.

Three state schedules were read in full for this page, every orthodontic line enumerated: Illinois, Arkansas and Oklahoma. They were chosen because all three publish their orthodontic section openly and because they price it in three completely different ways.

Illinois prices a course in four pieces

The Illinois HFS Dental Program Fee Schedule, effective 1 January 2026, runs to 237 procedure codes. Five of them are orthodontic, and the schedule prints its own description beside each one. That is unusual and it is useful, because those descriptions show how the programme thinks about the work.

ONE COURSE, ILLINOIS, AT ITS MAXIMUM$3,790.00Examination and records$100.00Fitting the appliance$900.00Adjustments11 of them, the most it will fund$2,640.00Removal and retainer$150.00

The examination that starts everything — described on the schedule as an initial examination with records, radiographs and facial photographs — is $100.00. Fitting the appliance is $900.00. Each periodic adjustment is $240.00, and the line carries its own cap: eleven maximum, which comes to $2,640.00. Removing the appliance and fitting retainers is $150.00. There is a fifth line, an initial evaluation with study models, at $47.05.

Add the four course lines and you get $3,790.00. Add the evaluation as well and it is $3,837.05. Those two sums are the only arithmetic on this section, and both are reproduced by the script that ships with this site.

Two details on that schedule matter more than the total. Every one of the five lines requires prior approval. And every one of them is priced in the children's column only: the adults column and the pregnant women's column both read N/A, on all five, while an ordinary line on the same document — palliative treatment of dental pain — is priced at $22.00 for all three groups alike.

What the eleven does not mean

Eleven adjustments is a limit on what the programme will fund. It is not a treatment plan, not a prediction, and not a statement about how long anything takes. It is worth holding onto because it is the one place a public document puts a number on the shape of a course: the NHS says a fixed brace is adjusted every 6 to 8 weeks, and eleven visits at that interval spans 66 to 88 weeks. That is arithmetic on two published facts, not a forecast about your teeth.

Arkansas prices the same course as one number

The Arkansas Medicaid Dental Fee Schedule takes the opposite approach. It has no description column at all — a code, up to four modifiers, one beneficiary category and one amount — and it pays a single global fee for a whole course rather than itemising it.

Comprehensive treatment of the transitional dentition is $3,838.00. Adolescent dentition is $3,924.45, which is $86.45 more. Adult dentition is $4,174.30, which is $249.85 more than the adolescent code. Removable appliance therapy is $624.15 and fixed appliance therapy is $825.55, a difference of $201.40.

Here is the coincidence that made this page worth writing. Arkansas' single fee for a transitional-dentition course is $3,838.00. Illinois' five lines, added up, come to $3,837.05. The gap between two completely unrelated states pricing the same work in completely different ways is $0.95. It is a coincidence and nothing more — two states, two methods, no shared arithmetic — but it is the kind of coincidence that suggests both are circling something real.

Arkansas carries no adjustment line and no retention line at all, which follows from paying one global fee. It also prints $0.00 against its unspecified orthodontic code, and the document's own notes explain that a maximum of $0.00 means the code is manually priced. And every single orthodontic row on the schedule reads Child. Ordinary lines elsewhere on the same document do carry Adult and Adult-IDD categories — removing a tooth is one of them, priced separately and belonging to a different conversation than this page — so the absence on the orthodontic rows is a decision rather than an oversight. Arkansas goes further than that: it prices D8090, the adult-dentition code, at $4,174.30, and still records that row against a child beneficiary.

Oklahoma prints a word where the price goes

The SoonerCare Dental Fee Schedule, effective 1 January 2026, has two rate columns: child, aged 0 to 20, and adult, aged 21 and over. It carries five orthodontic lines. Two of them publish no rate at all — the cell reads MANUAL — and one of those two is the comprehensive course code, the single line anybody looking up the cost of braces would want.

What it does price is the edges: limited treatment of the transitional dentition at $429.38, fixed appliance therapy at $435.99, and removing a fixed appliance before treatment is finished at $121.95. All five lines require prior authorisation and all five carry the same instruction to refer to the provider guidelines. The adult column is empty on every one of them, while the same document prices a periodic examination at $21.34 for a child and $23.50 for an adult.

The three documents side by side

Laid out together, the striking thing is not the prices. It is how little the three documents overlap. No single orthodontic code appears on all three schedules with a published rate.

CodeIllinoisArkansasOklahoma
D8020no lineno line$429.38
D8070no line$3,838.00no line
D8080$900.00$3,924.45MANUAL
D8090no line$4,174.30no line
D8210no line$624.15no line
D8220no line$825.55$435.99
D8660$100.00no lineno line
D8670$240.00no lineno line
D8680$150.00no lineno line
D8695no lineno line$121.95
D8999$47.05$0.00MANUAL

Solid orange is an amount the document publishes. An outlined cell means the schedule carries the line but withholds the rate — Oklahoma prints MANUAL, Arkansas prints $0.00 and says in its own notes that this means manually priced. A dashed cell means that document has no such line at all.

DocumentHow it prices a courseWhat it publishesWhat it will not price
Illinois HFS Dental Program Fee Schedule, effective 1 January 2026Five lines, each priced separately, all needing prior approval$3,790.00 for the four course lines at their maximumAnything for an adult — N/A in the adults column on all five lines
Arkansas Medicaid Dental Fee Schedule, run date 9/16/26One global fee per course, no itemisation, no descriptions$3,924.45 for adolescent dentition; $4,174.30 for adult dentitionAdjustments and retention — neither line exists; and no adult beneficiary row
SoonerCare Dental Fee Schedule, effective 1 January 2026Five lines, two of them without any published rate$429.38 and $435.99 on two lines it does priceThe comprehensive course itself — that cell reads MANUAL
NHS England patient charges, page reviewed 13 March 2025By treatment band rather than by code£332.10 for a Band 3 course, which the page says includes orthodontic treatmentIt does not state when the current charges took effect

Illinois HFS Dental Program Fee Schedule, effective 1 January 2026

How it prices a course
Five lines, each priced separately, all needing prior approval
What it publishes
$3,790.00 for the four course lines at their maximum
What it will not price
Anything for an adult — N/A in the adults column on all five lines

Arkansas Medicaid Dental Fee Schedule, run date 9/16/26

How it prices a course
One global fee per course, no itemisation, no descriptions
What it publishes
$3,924.45 for adolescent dentition; $4,174.30 for adult dentition
What it will not price
Adjustments and retention — neither line exists; and no adult beneficiary row

SoonerCare Dental Fee Schedule, effective 1 January 2026

How it prices a course
Five lines, two of them without any published rate
What it publishes
$429.38 and $435.99 on two lines it does price
What it will not price
The comprehensive course itself — that cell reads MANUAL

NHS England patient charges, page reviewed 13 March 2025

How it prices a course
By treatment band rather than by code
What it publishes
£332.10 for a Band 3 course, which the page says includes orthodontic treatment
What it will not price
It does not state when the current charges took effect

Every figure here is quoted as its document prints it. Amounts in dollars are payer allowances in the United States; the pound figure is a patient charge in England. Read 24 September 2026.

What a dental plan adds, and where it stops

If a plan is involved, the shape of the answer changes completely. The four 2026 FEDVIP dental brochures published by the US Office of Personnel Management are official statements of benefits rather than marketing, and all four treat orthodontics the same peculiar way: it is the one benefit with a ceiling that does not reset.

The Lifetime Maximum is applicable to Orthodontia benefits only. There are no other lifetime maximums under this Plan.

That is the Aetna Dental brochure, in its own words. The term is the plans' own and it describes a ceiling on money, not a claim about how long any appliance or result lasts. Across the four brochures those ceilings run from $1,000.00 to $4,000.00, and the share the plan pays runs from 40% to 60%.

Dividing one by the other gives the only figure that actually tells you anything: how much treatment the ceiling reaches before you are paying every cent yourself.

The commonest ceiling in the four brochures is $2,000.00. At the 50% share most of them pay, that stops covering anything past $4,000.00 of treatment. Set it against Arkansas' published allowance for an adolescent course, $3,924.45: half of that is $1,962.23, which fits under a $2,000.00 ceiling with $37.77 to spare. Half of the Illinois course, $1,895.00, leaves $105.00. The ceiling and the course are almost exactly the same size, and the ceiling is not offered twice.

One brochure spells out how the money arrives. BCBS FEP Dental says the benefit for the initial placement will not exceed 25% of the lifetime maximum, with the balance paid in equal instalments over a maximum of 29 months. On its $3,500.00 ceiling that is $875.00 at placement and $90.52 a month thereafter. The same brochure adds that if your coverage terminates, all orthodontia benefit payments end — which is a real consideration for a course measured in years. There is more on all of this in the chapter on what an orthodontic lifetime maximum actually covers.

England, for comparison

The NHS in England charges for dental treatment in three bands. Band 3, at £332.10, is the band the charges page says includes orthodontic treatment, such as braces. That is a patient charge for a course of treatment rather than an allowance paid to a dentist, so it is not comparable to the dollar figures above in any arithmetic sense — but it is the one place in these documents where a member of the public sees a published number before treatment starts.

Two caveats sit on it. The charges page does not say when the current amounts took effect, so this site does not either. And the NHS page on braces says they are usually only available free on the NHS for people under the age of 18 who have a problem with their teeth, with eligibility turning on how the teeth affect day-to-day life. Adults in England are, in practice, looking at private fees that nobody publishes — the same wall as in the United States.

How to get a number that applies to you

Everything above is context. None of it is your quote, and no document can be. A number that applies to you comes from one place: a practice that has examined you, in writing, before you agree to anything.

If you want to look at the commercial routes as well: DentalPlans.com and Careington both sell dental discount plans, which are not insurance — they buy access to a reduced fee list rather than paying a share of your bill, so check what a specific plan's fee list says for orthodontic codes and whether a practice you can reach accepts it, before paying any membership fee. Opencare books appointments in US metro areas, which is one way to get the examination that has to happen first.

Whether the appliance is metal, ceramic or a sequence of clear trays does not change any of the arithmetic above, which is the subject of braces against clear aligners.

Questions this page gets asked

So what is the average cost of braces?

This site does not print one, because no free primary source publishes it and an average of unsourced figures is not a fact. The closest honest answers are payer allowances: $3,790.00 itemised in Illinois, $3,924.45 as a single code in Arkansas. Both are what a public programme allows a dentist for a child, not what you would be quoted.

Why do the three states differ so much on the same codes?

Because they are not really pricing the same thing. Illinois splits a course into five billable events; Arkansas pays one global fee and has no adjustment or retention line at all; Oklahoma prices only the edges and leaves the comprehensive course to be priced case by case. Where two of them do price the same code, they still disagree: fixed appliance therapy is $825.55 in Arkansas and $435.99 in Oklahoma, about 1.9 times more.

Will Medicaid pay for my braces?

Federal rules require states to cover dental benefits for children, and Medicaid.gov says the EPSDT benefit requires all services to be provided if determined medically necessary — with the state deciding what medical necessity means. For adults, Medicaid.gov says states have flexibility and there are no minimum requirements for adult dental coverage. On all three schedules read here, orthodontics is priced for children only, and every orthodontic line needs prior approval or prior authorisation.

Does the lifetime maximum reset if I need treatment again?

Not by that name. The brochures describe it as a lifetime maximum precisely because it is not an annual one, and Aetna's brochure says orthodontia is the only benefit on the plan that carries such a ceiling. BCBS FEP Dental adds that the allowed amount does not guarantee the full lifetime maximum will be paid on a single treatment. Read your own plan document rather than this page: terms differ and change yearly.

Is it cheaper to pay cash than to use a plan?

That depends on figures no public document holds — what a particular practice charges, what it discounts for payment up front, and what your plan's allowance is. What can be said from the documents is that the plan's share is capped, and on the commonest ceiling it stops after $4,000.00 of treatment. Ask for both numbers in writing and compare them yourself.